We Will Rock Your House

I’ve been dealing with heavy issues which have magnified their intensity in the past few weeks.

It’s been one year since I was laid off from my last job and my (un)employment insurance ran out a few weeks ago. I’m facing the possibility (indeed, the certainty) of going on social assistance until I can find sustainable work. At a recent hiring event, the company representative told me that I was overqualified for an office administrator position. Meanwhile, a local staffing agency thinks I have the necessary experience for a door-to-door sales position which pays eleven bucks per hour plus commission.

Given that situation, the need for escape should be obvious.

With that in mind, I’ve been watching a lot of classic James Bond movies. A few days ago, while taking a break from watching You Only Live Twice, a feasible mashup idea came out of nowhere. What’s even better is that shortly afterward, this movie helped me to further conceptualize my idea.

Mychael Danna’s Life Of Pi soundtrack is spectacular, much like the movie it represents. One particular song, “Set Your House In Order,” has been on my radar for a long time. In that moment of inspiration, I found a worthy match for it.

WWRYH 500
Photo credit: thisisbossi (CC BY-NC-SA 2.0, image modified from original)

Download

Leave a comment