Ce Facile Matin La

Even though I struggled to come up with worthwhile mashup ideas in the latter part of 2015, I always held out a flicker of hope that I would hit paydirt once again.

Fortunately, my employment prospects were improving; I started working for a company on a temporary basis in August. I didn’t expect my tenure to last until December, but I’m glad that it did. In my last months with the company, I worked on a data entry project. In order to distract myself from the (tolerable) monotony of the task at hand, I brought CDs from home to play in the office. One of them was Air’s Moon Safari.

One of the songs which struck me as a possible mashup candidate was “Ce Matin La.” I must have listened to it shortly after the release of Adele’s massive comeback single, “Hello.” At the time, I thought that these songs would sound good together, but the time I had for making mashups was limited. I ultimately shelved that idea.

Fast forward to the evening of January 1st, 2016. I was still struggling for ideas, so I thought that checking my folder of unused acapellas wouldn’t hurt. One of the first songs I considered was Dragonette’s “Easy”; since the acapella sounded decent enough, it only needed a suitable instrumental match.

Fortunately, I didn’t have to look far to find it.

CFML 500
Photo credit: Tom Waterhouse (CC BY-NC 2.0)

Download

Leave a Reply

