Sonic Starships

I didn’t expect a mashup idea to hit me on my way to church last Sunday, but that’s what happened and I’m grateful for that. The week of awesome is over (I attended Canada Reads debates and Quad City Chaos last week) and I’m still unemployed, so any distractions are welcome right now.

When Sega came out with the Dreamcast console in 1999, Sonic Adventure was one of the launch games. In those days, Sonic The Hedgehog and Mario weren’t playing for the same team. Seriously, if you told me that Mario and Sonic would end up like Jay Z and Nas and appear in video games together, I would have had some choice words for you. I was firmly on Nintendo’s side with my console choices (I still have my Super Nintendo), but make no mistake – when the opportunity to play Sonic Adventure presented itself, I usually took it. One of my favourite aspects of the game was its music. I forget when I originally sought MP3s from the soundtrack, but I still have them.

A few years ago, I made a failed attempt to pair “Run Through The Speed Highway” with Foster The People’s “Pumped Up Kicks.” In my totally unbiased opinion, history hasn’t repeated itself with my latest mashup.

SS 500
Photo credit: niXerKG (CC BY-NC 2.0, image modified from original)

Download

Leave a Reply

