Laying Low

At this time last year, I released eight mashups. I’ve only released six so far in 2015, so I haven’t slowed down that much in comparison to one year ago. Mind you, I didn’t have the specters of financial ruin and bleak career prospects hovering over my head like a dark cloud back then.

Perhaps those specters are contributing to my lack of inspiration these days. It’s true that I only want to release mashups which I’ll be proud of long after I’ve completed them. However, I still haven’t been able to secure any interviews in my job search. Also, even though I’ve applied for many jobs with one particular staffing agency (the same one I referred to in this post), they only think I’m qualified to do door-to-door sales. Sure, insult my intelligence and ignore the banking experience on my resume. My blood boils every time I think about it, so I don’t apply for their positions anymore.

I still have good days, but as you can see, the bad ones are taking their toll.

Fortunately, next week is full of distractions to take my mind away from my painful existence. Canada Reads 2015 starts on Monday; it’ll involve very early mornings, but at least they’ll prepare me for when I do land a job. Heck, I might try blogging here daily after each taping is over, but I won’t guarantee anything yet.

On top of that, there is a free event with Kazuo Ishiguro which I’m really looking forward to, not to mention a trip to Toronto Roller Derby’s Quad City Chaos on Saturday. An entire day of roller derby?! You know I’ll be there with bells on.

Leave a Reply

