It’s On Again

As I work on my third mashup of 2015, a few things are distracting me from that task. One of them is the upcoming edition of Canada Reads, CBC’s annual literary contest where five panelists pick a book and defend its merits versus the other ones. It’s like a literary version of Survivor; heck, at the end of each of the four episodes, one book is eliminated.

In light of Jian Ghomeshi’s swift fall from grace, it’s no surprise that a new host is taking over this year. He just happens to be last year’s winning panelist: Wab Kinew, who brilliantly defended The Orenda by Joseph Boyden.

Yesterday, the books and panelists were revealed:

It’ll be interesting to see if any of these panelists come close to matching Mr. Kinew’s opening statement from last year. I also fondly remember Samantha Bee‘s defense of Cockroach, particularly her closing statement. I did not like that book, but her defense was so tight that I would have been pleased if it won.

I don’t have a favourite panelist yet, though I’m hoping that Mr. Bailey does well since we both have roots in Barbados. I’m also hoping that I can attend this year’s tapings, though given the option between doing that and going to work, I’d pick the latter. (I’m still unemployed and I’m very much in the red.)

Leave a Reply

