You’re The Inspiration

I’ve been making mashups for long enough to know that inspiration can unexpectedly strike at any time. This recently happened again, but it was for a mashup cover, not the mashup itself.

Last week, I fell down a Sleater-Kinney rabbit hole. I can’t call myself a fan, but I’ve known about this trio since my grade school days. They have a new album coming out this week after a very long hiatus; I checked out two of its songs (“Surface Envy” and “Bury Our Friends“) plus an older one (“Jumpers,” which is deceptively catchy) and I liked what I heard. While I was looking through their discography, one of their album covers brought back memories: Dig Me Out.

The next morning, it occurred to me that this cover was an homage, but to whom? I scrolled through my mental Rolodex of possibilities before settling on The Kinks; it turned out that I was correct.

On a whim, I decided to emulate these covers in Photoshop Elements. After a lot of trial and error, here’s what I came up with.

SK Kinks speek

Not bad, if I do say so myself.

Since making this prototype, I’ve taken it further and filled in the blanks. When I finish the corresponding mashup, you’ll see the full version of this cover.

Leave a Reply

