Bowing Out

As I said in my previous post, I’ve been making mashups non-stop since last year, writer’s block notwithstanding. With every new piece of music I listened to, I always considered the possibility of using it as a mashup source. I’ve previously lamented this state of affairs, but mashups like “Apologize To Marilyn” and “Capital Contrast” wouldn’t have been possible without it. I’ve always aimed to expand listeners’ horizons, but that’s impossible if I don’t do that for myself first.

With that said, it’s time for me to slow down and recharge.

I’m taking a hiatus from making mashups for at least the month of December. I may extend it to the end of February so that it’ll coincide with the duration of my social media hiatus.* No matter what happens, rest assured that I will continue to fulfill my duties as a Mashstix moderator. If the need arises, I will also post updates to this blog.

Please don’t misinterpret this as a precursor to leaving mashup production behind. As a matter of fact, I’m already considering viable ideas for 2015. My goal, as always, is to keep blowing listeners’ minds with unlikely combinations.

*Long story short: no Twitter, Facebook, Instagram or G+ for me. I’ll still keep an eye on my HearThis, YouTube and SoundCloud accounts, though.

Leave a Reply

