Bad Calls

As you may know, I’m one of the current moderators at Mashstix. I give critical feedback on mashups and recommend them for Frontpaging or Frontpage them myself if they merit that honour. I love what I do, but it comes with pitfalls…like the ever-present possibility of making bad judgement calls.

I make sure to back up my assertions with solid evidence, but even with that, I err sometimes. For example, when DJ Axcess originally posted the first version of “Let It Go Frozen” to the forum, I said that there was a key clash before the first chorus. When the improved version was released with that same “clash,” it was Frontpaged and mentioned in the March edition of Lloyd Recommends. No one questioned my findings, but sometimes, I go back to that mashup in my mind and wonder if I made a mistake.

Then there are the incidents where I think I’m being too harsh for my own good. I don’t mean the times when I use strong language to get my point across (that will not change anytime soon), but rather, when one element prevents me from recommending or Frontpaging an otherwise excellent mashup. Last night, I came back to DRA’man’s latest submission, “Fall In Love With Him.” When I first heard it, I noticed wobbly hissing on the acapella; if anything was going to stop me from recommending this mashup, that was it. Sure enough, that hissing ended up being the dealbreaker for me. Meanwhile, I’ve recommended mashups which weren’t nearly as close to perfection as DRA’man’s is. Therein lies the basis for my internal debate: was I too easy on those previous mashups and too hard on DRA’man? There’s no way I can reverse a decision after it’s made, but since I overthink things, internal arguments like this one come with the territory.

With everything said, I couldn’t live with myself if I let myself be paralyzed by the fear of making bad judgement calls. Even if I’m not 100% correct every time, I have a mandate to fulfill, regardless of the mistakes I make along the way.

Fear is related to not knowing what to expect and not being sure you can deliver it; it’s connected to the mess and ambiguity that go along with unpredictability. …The only way I’ve ever learned to overcome it is simply to do whatever the thing is that makes me afraid.
Arlene Dickinson, All In

Leave a Reply

