New Mashup: Everybody’s Escape (A.R. Rahman vs. Evanescence vs. Shimi Cohen)

I won’t get into the details with this update, but between “Super Wannabe Bros.” and “Beautiful Panther” (which I should be able to hard launch in a few weeks), I felt like my creative tap ran dry. It wasn’t my longest drought by any means, but it felt like my worst. Thankfully, a Mashstix contest got my juices flowing again.

After completing “Beautiful Panther,” I attempted to make my third James Brown mashup; Evanescence’s “Everybody’s Fool” would have been the other half of it. Unfortunately, it didn’t sound right to me, so I scrapped it. Fortunately, when I looked at ideas which I previously jotted down, I had one with Evanescence and another movie soundtrack.

I remember seeing Slumdog Millionaire at the 2008 Toronto International Film Festival; since it won the People’s Choice Award, a free screening was offered on the last day. I loved it when I first saw it, but I had no idea that it was on its way to being an award season juggernaut. “Jai Ho” (the song which plays during the ending credits) is the song which most people will remember offhand, but there’s much more to the soundtrack than that song.

While making this mashup, I remembered a video I first saw last year: “The Innovation Of Loneliness” by Shimi Cohen. I vaguely remembered that it said something about how people on social media craft idealized versions of themselves, something which Evanescence rails against in their song. Needless to say, I put samples from Mr. Cohen’s project into my mashup; I’ll let you decide if I made the right move.

Download
https://dl.dropbox.com/s/uvq8aw573b0ntsy/48EverybodysEscape.mp3?dl=0

Sources:
A.R. Rahman – “Mausam & Escape” (from the Slumdog Millionaire soundtrack)
Evanescence – “Everybody’s Fool
Shimi Cohen – “The Innovation Of Loneliness

Leave a Reply

