New Mashup: Please Don’t Fire Me (Pink vs. Vangelis)

As you may know, I’ve been getting mashup ideas in unexpected places lately. This one is no different.

A Sunday morning church service isn’t where I’d expect to be creatively inspired, although that’s not to say that it’s never happened. I’m usually too busy singing (in my church’s choir and worship team) and concentrating on the sermon to even think about what my next mashup will sound like. However, during a recent sermon, my pastor quoted a Bible verse which talks about chariots of fire.

You can guess what happened next.

When I was younger, you couldn’t escape Vangelis’ theme song from the movie of the same name. I’m pretty sure that it briefly popped up in my mind at least a few times before that Sunday morning, but until then, that song wasn’t on my list of instrumentals I wanted to use. When my pastor quoted that Bible verse, this mashup was set in motion. I don’t usually refer to my mental Rolodex of songs when I consider mashup combinations, but that’s what I did in this case. I eventually settled on Pink’s “Please Don’t Leave Me,” which seemed like a good fit as I mentally put the songs together.

When I decided to hook these songs up for real, my initial suspicions were confirmed.

Download
https://dl.dropbox.com/s/g6cxc3lzdc6lh1u/45PleaseDontFireMe.mp3?dl=0

Sources:
Pink – “Please Don’t Leave Me
Vangelis – “Chariots Of Fire

Leave a Reply

