New Mashup: I Don’t Switch (Amon Tobin vs. Fall Out Boy)

For all the times I’ve (unwisely) tried to force creativity, the mashup process is more beautiful when combinations come to me unexpectedly. For example, this latest one struck me while I was taking a shower.

It’s always a pleasure for me to take familiar songs into uncharted territory, but it’s even more gratifying when I can do it with one of my favourite artists. As you may know, Amon Tobin has occupied a cherished spot in my music collection for a very long time; I consider Permutation to be a life-changing album. With this mashup, I was able to use one of its songs and it was a thrill for me to do so. As for Fall Out Boy, I’m not exactly crazy about them, but they have a few songs which I like. “I Don’t Care” just happens to be one of them.

Forgive my bias, but what makes this pairing click for me is the swing tempo of each song. It can be a royal pain to match songs which don’t have the usual 4/4 time signature – for example, “Fallin'” by Alicia Keys (which I’ve worked with). However, when it’s done right, you end up with something quite astonishing.

Download
https://dl.dropbox.com/s/6ime63hta1zerbm/43IDontSwitch.mp3?dl=0

Sources:
Amon Tobin – “Switch
Fall Out Boy – “I Don’t Care

Leave a Reply

