Canada Reads 2014

There’s more to me than being a mashup producer. For example, I consider myself a voracious reader; I’ve always enjoyed books, but I got serious about reading them during a social media detox last year. Having a book handy is a surefire defense against the urge to log in to social networks on my cellphone. Among the books I read last year, An Astronaut’s Guide To Life On Earth by Chris Hadfield and Two Solitudes by Hugh MacLennan were two of my favourites.

Since a few years ago, I’ve enjoyed Canada Reads, an annual event where the merits of five Canadian books are defended and debated until one emerges as the winner. Back in 2012, Prisoner Of Tehran by Marina Nemat was my favourite of the books selected. Unfortunately, it was also the first book eliminated; Something Fierce by Carmen Aguirre ended up winning. Last year, my pick was the aforementioned Two Solitudes, though I would have been very happy if Richard Wagamese’s Indian Horse took top honours. Both books were eliminated before Lisa Moore‘s February was declared the winner.

The five books for this year’s event are:

I’ve read four of these books and The Orenda is easily my favourite. Not that I find any of the other three especially horrible (although I really don’t care for Cockroach), but Mr. Boyden managed to capture and hold my interest despite his book’s epic length of almost 500 pages. That said, I’ll likely need a second reading (or third…or fourth) to fully appreciate the nuances I missed the first time around.

I still need to read The Year Of The Flood, but it’s been tough for me to get it at the Toronto library. The last book I read by Atwood, The Handmaid’s Tale, left me disappointed. That said, if former Toronto mayor David Miller‘s impassioned defense is anything to go by, Flood shouldn’t leave me feeling the same way. I just hope I can get to it before Canada Reads starts on March 3rd!

Just for kicks, here’s a chronological list of the books I’ve read so far this year.

Leave a Reply

