Mod Life Is(n’t) Rubbish

It’s been two months since I joined Team Stix and I love it. It still amazes me that I can influence the mashup scene with my opinions, but at this point, I’m beyond being wide-eyed with wonder. I have a job to do and standards to uphold; I take those responsibilities very seriously.

I do my best to avoid making bad calls on mashups I review, but that’s exactly what happened a few weeks ago. I Frontpaged a mashup where one of the sources was out of key. Normally, key clashes make themselves obvious and I can back up my initial suspicions with irrefutable evidence. In this case, nothing struck me as being off, so you could imagine my deep disappointment and embarrassment when Lloyd pointed out the clashes I missed.

It was an unintentional mistake, but I felt like I let The Stix down; my confidence took quite a hit. I even took a small break from reviewing mashups, but it didn’t take long for me to end it. (Out of respect to the producer involved, I won’t go into any further details.)

Apart from incidents like that one, however, this is a gig I thoroughly enjoy. To me, it’s not only about Frontpaging and recommending mashups; I genuinely get a kick out of providing thoughtful feedback and helping producers improve their work. It’s especially sweet when I can help someone get Frontpaged for the first time, like I did for DJ Axcess with his mashup, “Somewhere Without Kryptonite“. It perfectly demonstrates the community aspect of Mashstix, where members come together to elevate mashups from potential-filled first drafts to stonkers worthy of our Frontpage and the wider exposure that comes with it.

Leave a Reply

