The Kind Of Year It’s Been

At the beginning of 2013, if you told me that I would have accomplished mashup career milestones before the year was over, I would have called you a nut. Now here we are at this year’s close and not only are more people listening to my mashups, I’ve had eleven of them Frontpaged so far at Mashstix (from “E.T. Eats Peanuts” onward) and I’m also a moderator at that site. On top of that, one of my mashups made it into their Best Of 2013 mix. Not bad for someone who was initially too scared to join.

Of the many mashups I’ve done this year, a few stand out for personal reasons.


Funky Toes (Lights vs. Daft Punk)
After doing “Ocean Diamonds”, I fell into a drought for a few months. This mashup was my comeback; I haven’t looked back since.


E.T. Eats Peanuts (Katy Perry vs. Vince Guaraldi Trio)
This is the one that started it all at The Stix; it ended up being my first Frontpaged mashup. It wasn’t my first submission, but it was my introduction to a lot of people. It is, and will always be, a personal favourite. Confession: I sometimes look at this mashup’s Stix forum thread to remind myself of what led to that first Frontpage.


Big Furry Fox (Ylvis vs. Amon Tobin)
I did not want to mash up “The Fox”, but the connection with Amon Tobin’s “Big Furry Head” was irresistible. I ended up turning a comedy song into something dead serious (although I still think it’s funny), and I even used movie samples for the first time.


When I’m Hurt (Anna Kendrick vs. Johnny Cash)
When I got this idea, I told myself that The Man In Black’s cover of “Hurt” was an untouchable song. It’s a good thing I ignored my own advice; in terms of plays and downloads, this is my most successful mashup to date. It’s also my most emotional; the first draft brought someone to tears. Heck, after the second draft ended up being worse than the first one, I almost cried. I’m glad I persevered; I wouldn’t have made it into the Mashstix Best Of 2013 Mix if I didn’t. That’s another milestone I didn’t expect to achieve this year, but I’m not gonna look that gift horse in the mouth.


Sandman P.I. (Metallica vs. Mike Post and Larry Carlton) (honourable mention)
I still play this one whenever I need a laugh; humour is what I had in mind when I made it. Let’s not forget what happened when I got the idea.

Needless to say, none of this would have been possible if no one was listening, so an obvious thanks goes to my listeners and fans. Extra special thanks goes out to everyone at Mashupciti, Mashstix, themashup.org (esp. Fran for posting “When I’m Hurt”; I didn’t even have to ask), Bootie Mashup Parties, Heather Snarksalot (for indirectly leading me to my new alias), Bizaaron, and Reddit members Naly_D and banderwocky for posting “When I’m Hurt” at r/mashups.

I’d be remiss if I didn’t thank the artists I mashed up this year: Taylor Swift, M.I.A., Rihanna, dZihan & Kamien, Lights, Daft Punk, Black Sheep, Maestro Fresh Wes, Kardinal Offishall, Outkast, The Herbaliser Band, Beastie Boys, Disturbed, Will Smith, Jennifer Lopez, Justin Timberlake, Ludovic Bource, Katy Perry, Vince Guaraldi Trio, Metallica, Mike Post, Larry Carlton, Janelle Monáe, Big Boi, Coldcut, Lady Gaga, Brad Paisley, Linkin Park, Trombone Shorty, Ylvis, Amon Tobin, Medeski Martin & Wood, Muse, Anna Kendrick, Johnny Cash, Nicola Fasano, Pat-Rich, Alicia Keys, Select Start, Red Hot Chili Peppers and Angelo Badalamenti.

And that’s the kind of year it’s been. This is Monsieur Poirot signing off…

Leave a Reply

