This Is Fake D.I.Y.

A while back, I posted a blog entry about my lack of desire for collaborating with other mashup producers. Heck, I even said “Leave. Me. Alone.” right at the end of it. What I didn’t realize is that even though no other producer’s name was attached to my mashups, collaboration was already happening.

Think about it.

If I really wanted to go it alone, why would I bother submitting my work at The Stix for feedback? When people like GaraGara or DJ JimiG made suggestions on how to bring myself closer to 100%, why didn’t I just tell them to piss off?

Simple: I know that I don’t know it all.

I named myself after two of the finest literary detectives, but I still miss things which others may think should be obvious. That’s why GaraGara asked if I put reverb on the acapella in “Big Furry Fox“. That’s also why JimiG suggested that I put EQ on the acapella in “Latin Uprising” to add some beef to it. I took on both suggestions in future drafts and they unquestionably improved the finished product.

I am sometimes aware of any given mashup’s flaws (like the wobbling in my latest). Nonetheless, going it alone is detrimental to my career.

Lest you think I’m blowing smoke, remember this: even Jesus had disciples.

Leave a Reply

