P.M.S.

When I initially got the idea to mash up “The Fox (What Does The Fox Say?)“, I was aware of a few risks. The chief one was that this was a very silly of-the-moment song; GenErik even went so far as to call it a “meme-pella”. There was also one other minor problem: I loathe “The Fox” to bits! Nonetheless, I finished the first version of “Big Furry Fox” right before turning 34 and, in retrospect, it may have topped “E.T. Eats Peanuts” as my favourite mashup of all time.

There was one more risk which I didn’t consider beforehand: now that I’ve actually done the mashup, I sometimes sing lyrics from “The Fox”. I’m not too happy about that.

I’m suffering from P.M.S. – Post-Mashup Syndrome. No scientific definition exists, but here’s mine anyway: after you mash up a song you hate to death, it sticks with you to the point that you start singing its lyrics. In this case, those lyrics are unsuitable for anyone older than five (example: “Dog goes woof, cat goes meow, bird goes tweet and mouse goes squeak”), but every now and then, I still sing them!

Don’t misunderstand me. I am fiercely proud of how I turned a silly song into something Ylvis never intended it to be: a tragically sinister piece. I just wish this didn’t mean that I’d resort to singing “dog goes woof” in public.

Leave a Reply

