On Quality Control And Self-Censorship

I posted a status update to my Facebook page and SpareElbowSkin made a comment. It got me thinking.

Apart from the drought I experienced after “Ocean Diamonds“, I’ve had a pretty steady rate of mashup releases. These days, I usually end up releasing three in any given month, though this definitely isn’t planned in advance. I think that most of my ideas are pretty good, but sometimes, they just end up being “pretty good at the time” (example: “Wild Wild Block“).

When I do mashups, I usually reach a “point of no return” where I decide to complete what I’m working on, no matter what challenges I’ve faced (or will face). Sometimes, I don’t even get to that point; “California Goldrush” and “Turfin’ G.A.G.A.” were initially scrapped before I decided to give them a second look.

Then there are the mashups which don’t make it past my mental stereo.

Before I started working on “In The Vieux Carre“, I scrapped a potential mashup: Miley Cyrus’ “Wrecking Ball” and Lady Antebellum’s “Need You Now“. It would have been a pretty good genre clash (pop vs. country), but the result would have sounded too similar to another “Wrecking Ball” mashup by Kill_mR_DJ, where he uses Foo Fighters’ “Arlandria” for his instrumental.

Of course, other people in the mashup scene have different approaches. For example, DRA’man releases at least one mashup in any given week. On the other hand, in all of the time I’ve been at The Stix, I’ve only seen one release from DJ BgM. (Mind you, it was very good.) Obviously, the danger in a DRA’man-like approach is that quantity can end up trumping quality unless you keep your standards consistently high, like he does. Unfortunately, I see (and hear) people who aren’t nearly as careful as he is.

That said, I’m in no position to tell other people what kind of mashup mentality they should have. Apart from any feedback I provide, the only quality control I want to improve is my own.

Leave a Reply

