Look For Me In The Whirlwind

I could have called this entry “Nothing To Fear But… (Part 3)”, but threequels don’t usually work out too well. Just ask the people behind the Iron Man movie franchise.

It’s been more than one month since I joined The Stix. I was initially scared due to their rigourous standards for frontpaging mashups, but somehow, my last three mashups made the cut. (!!!) On top of that, I’ve got more people checking for my output now than when I first started.

I feel like I’m in the middle of a whirlwind that I never saw coming. Just when I think it can’t get any more intense, something else blindsides me. For example: after joining Facebook a few days ago, Boot Of The Day named “Tightrope Revolution” as their pick on September 8th. A few people also shared that mashup in their timelines.

When I got the idea for “E.T. Eats Peanuts” about one month ago, I only saw the appeal of mashing up the Peanuts theme song. I never thought that the finished product would end up doing more for me than any of previous mashups. Needless to say, I can’t afford to mess it up now.

An aside: I took this entry’s title from the first song on Canadian rapper Maestro Fresh Wes‘ latest album, Orchestrated Noise. It’s not often that you get to see a living legend in action, but in less than two weeks, I’ll see The Godfather Of Canadian hip-Hop perform at one of Toronto’s best concert venues, Massey Hall. I’m stoked.

Leave a Reply

