Nothing To Fear But… (Part 2)

Almost two weeks ago, I wrote this blog entry about temporarily letting fear stop me from joining Mashstix, a community of mashup producers with very high standards for getting featured on its Frontpage (FP). Given those standards, I thought it would be a while before I had a chance at appearing on it.

Fortunately, the events of this week have proven me dead wrong.

On Monday night, I finished a new mashup, “E.T. Eats Peanuts.” Thanks to the chosen instrumental (“Linus And Lucy” by Vince Guaraldi Trio), I had a feeling that I had something special on my hands. However, being a Mashstix member for less than two weeks, I didn’t expect much. The next morning, I posted a link to my mashup on the forum and hoped for the best. I told myself that I’d be happy with at least one FP recommendation, but I knew I’d be disappointed if I didn’t get the two required for an actual FP appearance.

Before I woke up on Wednesday, thanks to DRA’man and SpareElbowSkin (who, I should mention, was gracious enough to review my first Mashstix submission even though it wasn’t his style of music), I got the two FP recommendations I was hoping for. In the nearly three days since its placement on the Frontpage, my new mashup has received 558 plays and counting. Let me put that number in perspective: one of my previous mashups, “Take Me RoboPimpin’,” has received 378 plays on SoundCloud since I released it about one year ago. It took much less time for my new mashup to top that total!

This is what can happen when you look fear in the face and tell it to piss off. I look forward to more pleasant surprises in my mashup career.

EEP Mashstix FP

Leave a Reply

